Tayos Expedition Team

The multi-disciplinary Tayos team is composed of artists, musicians, photographers, architects, film-makers and scientists led by co-founders of the Open Close arts collective Eileen Hall and Tamsin Cunningham. Including internationally-acclaimed musician and composer Jon Hopkins and pioneering neuroscientist Mendel Kaelen, the team will work both individually and collaboratively on the art, music and science that their expedition to Tayos has inspired.

"I’ve always been fascinated by the relationship between environment and musical output. The chance to make music inspired by, or even partly created within, such an unusual space really feels like an incredible privilege. I also can think of few more worthwhile causes than doing something that, in any way at all, could help protect a unique ecosystem such as this one."

Jon Hopkins


The Open Close Collective is a group of artists, architects, musicians, academics, scientists and makers united by an interest in how we can creatively redefine overlooked or undervalued places and spaces. By exploring peoples’ emotional connection to place through multi-disciplinary art, architecture and sound installations, Open Close aims to promote and encourage greater engagement with both the urban spaces and natural landscapes around us.